At-risk communities won’t have fire signs

VicRoads has installed one of the State Government’s new fire danger rating signs at Wye River but failed to include the signs in the shire’s other high-risk bushfire areas.

Colac Otway Shire will receive only one new fire danger rating sign, despite having eight of the state’s most high-risk bushfire areas.

The State Government previously committed to installing 340 revised fire danger rating signs at the entries of bushfire-prone towns to replace previous signs.

Colac Otway Shire has eight of the 52 towns which the government identified as high-risk bushfire areas.

Those towns are Kawarren, Barongarook, Carlisle River, Forrest, Lavers Hill, Marengo, Barwon Downs and Wye River.

But the Office of the Emergency Services Commissioner ordered VicRoads to install one fire danger sign at Wye River and failed to include the remaining seven towns on its list.

The clock-face warning signs display six levels of fire danger which authorities will adjust according to changing weather conditions.

VicRoads regional director Robin Miles said the roads authority was responsible for installing the signs on state roads but did not decide where they went.

Colac Otway Shire Council chief Rob Small expressed his surprise that VicRoads had not installed more than one sign in the shire.

He said residents and visitors in the district should check the radio and internet for up-to-date bushfire warnings.

Comments are closed.