Ten still in contention after Falcons reduce list

The Geelong Falcons named Colac district footballers, from left, Cassidy Parish, Cooper Stephens and Ethan Floyd in their leadership group.

Ten Colac district footballers remain in Geelong Falcons contention following the TAC Cup club’s latest list lodgement after Sunday’s intra-club hitout.

Newly appointed Falcons co-captain Cooper Stephens, leadership group members Cassidy Parish and Ethan Floyd, Frazer O’Gorman, Adam Garner, Tyler Flanigan, Ezrah Robertson, Jarrod Walters, Campbell Tanis and Finlay Parish will find out their Falcons fate at Monday’s final cut.

But Falcons coach Dan O’Keefe said Colac Tigers trio Leigh Gorwell, Bryce McDonald and Clay Mulgrew, Apollo Bay’s Tristan Smith and Alvie’s Lochie Rosevear had missed selection following Sunday’s clash, while Tom O’Farrell, Sam Mahoney and Tom Cahill also ended their pre-season campaigns with Geelong last month.

O’Keefe said informing the emerging footballers they missed a spot on the final list was the toughest part of his job.

But the first-year Falcons mentor implored the talented youngsters not to give up on their football dreams, despite missing a chance to be involved in the AFL pathway competition.

“We give them as much feedback as possible and the hardest thing is who they’re up against in the squad, because we have to make sure we’ve got a good balance of top-age and bottom-age players, height, and position as well,” O’Keefe said.

For the full story see today’s Colac Herald.

Buy the Colac Herald print edition, which has full coverage of all the region’s news and sport. Click here to find out where to buy a copy

Comments are closed.