Election candidates finalised

Julie Baud drew numbered balls from a rotating barrel to determine the order of Corangamite candidates on the ballot paper. Also pictured is the AEC’s divisional returning officer Vic Parker.

Eight candidates will contest the ultra-marginal Corangamite seat at next month’s federal election, with a draw putting Labor’s Libby Coker above incumbent Liberal Sarah Henderson.

The Australian Electoral Commission officially declared the candidates in Colac on Wednesday, before an electoral assistant drew the order of the ballot paper using a rotating barrel and numbered balls.

The ballot’s top spot went to the far right Rise Up Australia Party candidate Ian Erskine, followed by Labor’s Libby Coker and the Greens’ Simon Northeast.

The Animal Justice Party’s Naomi Adams is fourth on the ballot paper, followed by independent Damien Cole and Liberal Sarah Henderson.

United Australia Party candidate Neil Harvey and Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party candidate Mandy Grimley are last on the ballot paper.

Corangamite is nominally a Labor seat by 0.03 per cent following last year’s electoral boundary redistribution shedding about 13,000 voters from Colac and surrounds into Wannon.

Meanwhile, the AEC declared four Wannon candidates would contest the election.

Officers at Warrnambool determined Greens candidate Zephlyn Taylor would have the ballot’s number one spot, followed by the United Australia Party’s Joshua Wallace, Labor’s Maurice Billi, independent Alex Dyson and incumbent Liberal Dan Tehan.

See today’s Colac Herald for more.

Buy the Colac Herald print edition, which has full coverage of all the region’s news and sport. Click here to find out where to buy a copy

Comments are closed.