Change tipped in footy’s top four

Pictured, from left, are Irrewarra-Beeac’s Jason Cartwright, Forrest’s Dan Tebble, South Colac’s Dion Oborne, Otway Districts, Liam Harrington, Birregurra’s Michael Davis, Western Eagles’ Al Costin, Lorne’s Sean Smartt, Colac Imperials’ Andrew Scott and Simpson’s Daniel Mason at the Central Reserve grandstand.

IRREWARRA-BEEAC, Birregurra, Alvie and Lorne have consistently featured in the top four during the past three years – but players have tipped that to change.

High-profile Colac District Football League players believe South Colac and Simpson are certainties to make this year’s finals series, replacing the Swans and the Dolphins.

The revelations come to light in a Colac Herald poll of one player from each of the 11 CDFL clubs.

The Herald asked the players to name the four clubs, alongside their own, which would make the top five in 2011.

South Colac, alongside Birregurra and Irrewarra-Beeac, received the maximum 10 votes, while Simpson was not far behind with eight.

Few expect Lorne, three, and Alvie, one, to feature in the September action.

Should any club tumble out of the five, players believe Forrest and Otway Districts lead the way as clubs to fill the hole.

The survey also asked for predictions for this season’s league best and fairest winner and league goal-kicking award.

The departure of Alvie’s 2010 Jack Mahoney medallist Andrew Kelly to Colac Tigers has shot first-year Bombers coach Khan Beckett to hot favoritism to claim his second medal.

Beckett received five votes, meaning half of those polled backed the super-fit midfielder to add another accolade to his collection.

Players also expect Saints skipper Mick Davis and South Colac midfielder Dave Marendaz to have stand-out seasons for their clubs and be within striking distance of the coveted medal.

Surprisingly, Forrest flyer Sean Calcedo failed to receive a vote despite featuring in the Lions’ best each game he played last season.

Calcedo is unlikely to fly under umpires’ radars this season as captain of a Forrest side many expect will improve on its seventh place finish.

Forrest playing coach Dave McKiernan tipped Calcedo to win the club’s best and fairest award as well as being the young player to have a big season.

On the goal-kicking front, South Colac recruit Ben Cox and Birregurra spearhead Mark Whelan are the strong favourites to drill the most majors between the sticks.

Comments are closed.