Clubs set to merge for T20 competition

Birregurra gun James Rowan could help form a composite side made up of Colac district clubs to help lift the Twenty20 competition to eight teams.

Five Colac district cricket clubs are set to merge this summer to boost the league’s Twenty20 competition to eight teams.

CDCA secretary Dave Treweek said the league had received positive feedback about a composite side, featuring Apollo Bay, Birregurra, Deans Marsh, Tomahawk Creek and Forrest, for the KFC Colac T20 Big Bash.

The team, a brainchild of Birregurra president Luke Hutchinson, has yet to be given a name ahead of the tournament, which starts on November 4.

Mr Treweek said association officials were eager to have eight teams after Birregurra withdrew from the T20 format due to the club sitting out the Division One competition season.

The T20 season will be split into two pools of four teams, with the top two sides after the round-robin matches from each group qualifying for semi-finals on December 15, with the final played later that day.

“To make the comp work we needed an eighth side,” Mr Treweek said.

“I’d flagged the idea with a few other board members about possibly having an under-17 team rep side, but that would’ve affected some clubs.

See today’s Colac Herald for more.

Buy the Colac Herald print edition, which has full coverage of all the region’s news and sport. Click here to find out where to buy a copy

Comments are closed.